Highlighting under the radar arts and culture in Birmingham, UK

Crowd Out

BCMG_CroudOutColour -Credit Adrian Burrows

This Sunday the World premiere of David Lang’s ‘Crowd Out‘ will take place in the Atrium of Millennium Point. An experimental piece of music for 1000 voices, it is inspired by football chanting. There will be all sorts of vocalisations and sounds from whispering, muttering, shouting and clapping. Local people of all ages and backgrounds will be taking part. You don’t even have to be able to sing. I am excited to be one of the voices taking part. I was asked by the classical music website Sinfini to write about my experiences. My first and second posts about the rehearsals can be read here and here. My piece on the performance itself can be read here.

Performances take place on Sunday 8 June at 2.30pm and 4.30pm. Tickets are absolutely free and can be booked here.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2014 by in Music.